Udinese-Milan, Ibrahimovic and the repeated penalty: that's why

Udinese-Milan, Ibrahimovic and the repeated penalty: that's why

ROME - The oldest goal in the history of A league he signs it Zlatan Ibrahimovic and comes after a storm that shakes the field and the stands of Friuli during Udinese-Milan. A penalty taken twice, with double intervention by the Var: first to concede it, then to have it repeated. But let's go in order.

Udinese-Milan, penalty repeated: that's why

In a contrast in area with Leaothe Udinese defender Bijol touch the ball with your arm. The referee Duties he doesn't notice it, but the Var calls him back: on the monitor, the referee decides for the penalty. Ibrahimovic goes on the spot and a 41 years 5 months and 15 days he could become the oldest scorer in Serie A history. Shot to the left by Silvestri, who stretches out and saves. The ball shoots towards the flag, the Udinese player Beto takes it back, who returns it. The action continues, at least a minute passes. But when the ball finally comes out, the surprise: the var calls the referee again Doveri. This time, he indicates that Beto, as the images show, entered the area before the ball was released. So, rigor to be repeated: Subtle, coach of Udinese, protests noisily against Doveri, who expels him at that point. But Sottil continues to yell at the referee: "You are a shameful thing", the scream of the coach as he is removed from the field. Ibra tries again and this time, of course, it's a goal with a record of seniority.

Repeated penalty: what the regulation says

Why did Doveri impose a re-shoot? In this case, the regulation is very clear: the VAR intervenes when "a defender enters the area before taking a penalty kick who is then directly involved in the game if the ball bounces off the post, crossbar or goalkeeper". And this is the case of Beto against Milan. What causes discussion is the fact that when the attacker arrives on the ball, it has already left the area laterally and perhaps the position he conquered by sprinting before the referee's whistle does not particularly benefit him to arrive first on the ball. However, this is of little interest to the regulation.

Source link